Women's Football News

Women's Football News, Print, Web and TV Media
Latest News Women's Football TV News Archive Search Get the Mag

Share page on Social Media:   f  Share     t     G+   find us on Twitter: @wssmagnews
Women's Football News

Women's Soccer Scene
Diana snatches last gasp winner
 Women's Football News 10 Aug 2012
Canada 1 (Matheson 90) France 0
Canada secured the bronze medals when a last minute goal from Diana Matheson gave them a 1-0 success at the City of Coventry Stadium. 
Following their heartbreaking defeat in the semi final classic to the United States three days earlier, this time it was Canada who benefitted from an injury time strike but the defeat was rough on France who had struck the woodwork twice but have now finished fourth in a major tournament for the second year in succession.
Canada started off in determined fashion with star striker Christine Sinclair firing a powerful shot inches over the bar. Melissa Tancredi then had a chance after French goalkeeper Sarah Bouhaddi collided with team mate Laura Georges but she could only direct her header wide.
However the best chance of the first half came at the other end when Elodie Thomis broke clear and sped away from the Canada defence but she was foiled by Erin McLeod, who came off her line to smother.
McLeod continued her fine form after the break with a tremendous save, managing to make a stop from Louisa Necib after initially having been wrongfooted as her shot took a deflection off Carmelina Moscato.
France continued to press and Gaetane Thiney was unlucky to see her shot come back off the post following a cross from Thomis.
Thomis herself hit the bar after being set up by Eugenie Le Sommer whilst Desiree Scott charged down a shot from Corine Franco in front of goal and Le Sommer shot over. McLeod then saved her best for the dying minutes with another fine stop from Franco as she looked poised to put her side ahead.
However Canada refused to buckle and in the second minute of injury time, came up with a sucker punch after having had to soak up a lot of French pressure. Sophie Schmidt's shot was blocked by Sonia Bompastor but Matheson was on hand to slot home the rebound from close range.
There was no time for France to come up with a reply and Canada could celebrate their first ever Olympic Games women's football medal. It was hard not to feel sympathy for a talented French side but perhaps Canada deserved reward for the agony and controversy from their semi final defeat. 
Canada: Erin McLeod, Rhian Wilkinson, Marie-Eve Nault (sub Candace Chapman 83mins), Carmelina Moscato, Lauren Sesselmann, Sophie Schmidt, Melissa Tancredi (sub Brittany Timko 77mins), Diana Matheson, Christine Sinclair, Jonelle Filigno (sub Kaylyn Kyle 55mins), Desiree Scott. Subs not used: Karina Leblanc, Chelsea Stewart, Kelly Parker, Melanie Booth.

France: Sarah Bouhaddi, Corine Franco, Sonia Bompastor, Laura Georges, Wendie Renard, Sandrine Soubeyrand (sub Camille Abily 54mins), Elodie Thomis (sub Camille Catala 90mins), Elise Bussaglia, Marie-Laure Delie (sub Eugenie Le Sommer 60mins), Louisa Necib, Gaetane Thiney. Subs not used: Celine Deville, Laure Boulleau, Ophelie Meilleroux, Sabrina Viguier.

 back to TOP


Women's Soccer Scene Media ©
on mobile   wssNews.co.uk 



Womens Football TV
Latest wssTV  


Womens Football Magazine
Womens Football Magazine

Womens Soccer Secene Media

Safe For Kids

Discount Football Kits

Women's Football Advertising

Womens Football News send your story photos and video

Women's Football Advertising

News Archive
News 2018-2019
News 2017-2018
News 2016-2017
News 2015-2016
News 2014-2015
News 2013-2014
News 2012-2013
News 2011-2012
Women's World Cup 2011
News 2010-2011
News 2009-2010
News 2008-2009
News 2007-2008
Women's World Cup 2007
News 2006-2007
News 2005-2006
News Euro 2005
News 2004-2005
News 2003-2004

Women's Sport Search
Women's Sport Search

Women's Football Advertising

Women's Football History


FA Womens Football Awards

BBC Sport Women's Football

Women's Football Advertising

Football Foundation


Total page reads:

© designed, created, hosted and managed by  WWW Support Services   (click for info)