Women's Football News, Print, Web and TV Media
Latest News Women's Football TV News Archive Search Get the Mag

Share page on Social Media:   f  Share     t     G+   find us on Twitter: @wssmagnews
Women's Football News

Women's Soccer Scene
Natasha carries off top award
 Women's Football News 23 Nov 2013
Natasha carries off top award - 23 Nov 2013 - Women's Football NewsNatasha Dowie was crowned FA Players' Player of the Year at the FA Women's Football Awards which were held at The Brewery in London. 
The Liverpool and England striker capped a remarkable few months for herself by landing the prestigious award after helping her club to a first ever FA WSL title. She also picked up the accolade of being the league's top goalscorer with 13 to her name - form which has also revived her international career.
To complete a good day for the Champions, Matt Beard carried off the Manager of the Year award for guiding the club to its greatest ever success.
Dawn Barnard, secretary of the Essex County Women's League and Essex County Girls League, was the winner of the Special Achievement Award for outstanding service to the women's game.
In a much lengthier ceremony but with fewer awards this time - no International player or Young player award was included - other winners included Bristol Academy, who won the Club of the Year award, and Steph Houghton's 25-yard strike against Lincoln Ladies for Arsenal won the vote for the Goal of the Year award.
The Premier League also received some recognition - Sunderland boss Mick Mulhern winning the league's Manager of the Year award for the third year in succession whilst Beth Mead, Jodie Michalska and Francesca Kirby were rewarded for finishing as divisional top goalscorers.
Gillian Coultard, the first England women's player to make 100 international appearances, was presented with a commemorative gold cap as was Alex Scott, after she reached the landmark during the Euro 2013 Finals.
To mark the 20th anniversary of the FA taking over the running of women's football, former WFA members Pat Gregory and Linda Whitehead were presented with a special Wembley Stone which will be placed by the Bobby Moore statue at Wembley Stadium.
The award winners: 
 National Division Top Goalscorer   Beth Mead (Sunderland) 
 Northern Division Top Goalscorer   Jodie Michalska (Sheffield FC) 
 Southern Division Top Goalscorer   Francesca Kirby (Reading FC Women)  
 FA WSL Top Goalscorer   Natasha Dowie (Liverpool) 
 Goal of the Year   Steph Houghton (Arsenal) 
 FA Club of the Year   Bristol Academy 
 FA WSL Manager of the Year   Matt Beard (Liverpool) 
 Premier League Manager of the Year   Mick Mulhern (Sunderland) 
 FA Players' Player of the Year   Natasha Dowie (Liverpool) 
 Special Achievement Award   Dawn Barnard 

 back to TOP


Women's Soccer Scene Media ©
on mobile   wssNews.co.uk 



Womens Football TV
Latest wssTV  


Womens Football Magazine
Womens Football Magazine

Womens Soccer Secene Media

Safe For Kids

Discount Football Kits

Women's Football Advertising

Womens Football News send your story photos and video

Women's Football Advertising

News Archive
News 2018-2019
News 2017-2018
News 2016-2017
News 2015-2016
News 2014-2015
News 2013-2014
News 2012-2013
News 2011-2012
Women's World Cup 2011
News 2010-2011
News 2009-2010
News 2008-2009
News 2007-2008
Women's World Cup 2007
News 2006-2007
News 2005-2006
News Euro 2005
News 2004-2005
News 2003-2004

Women's Sport Search
Women's Sport Search

Women's Football Advertising

Women's Football History


FA Womens Football Awards

BBC Sport Women's Football

Women's Football Advertising

Football Foundation


Total page reads:

© designed, created, hosted and managed by  WWW Support Services   (click for info)