Women's Football News, Print, Web and TV Media
Latest News Women's Football TV News Archive Search Get the Mag

Share page on Social Media:   f  Share     t     G+   find us on Twitter: @wssmagnews
Women's Football News

Women's Soccer Scene
Glee for Ji at awards
 Women's Football News 16 Nov 2014
Chelsea's Ji So Yun has been named FA WSL 1 Players' Player of the Year at the FA Women's Football Awards. 
The awards, which are an annual event that celebrate the best of domestic women's football, were held on Friday evening at Madame Tussauds. The South Korean international was chosen by her fellow players ahead of Karen Carney (Birmingham City) and Jess Clarke (Notts County) after an impressive season at Chelsea, who finished second in FA WSL 1. Unfortunately she was unable to attend on the night but sent a video message of thanks.
Reading's Fran Kirby scooped the FA WSL 2 award, after enjoying a season where she scored 29 goals and earned regular call ups to Mark Sampson's England squad.
Toni Duggan won the goal of the season, in a fan-voted award, for her spectacular strike against Chelsea on the dramatic final day of the FA WSL 1 season. Birmingham City's Dave Parker, who saw his team finish a close third, won Manager of the Year.
In the FA Women's Premier League, Helen Mitchell was named manager of the year after leading her Sheffield FC team to a Northern Division and Premier League Cup double.
Title winning Liverpool were named FA WSL 1 club of the year and Yeovil Town won the FA WSL 2 award, whilst Sheffield FC scooped the FA WPL award.
The FAWPL Players' Player of the Year award for the respective divisions were presented to Charlton Athletic striker Sam Pittuck, who won the Southern Division award, whilst the Northern Division award went to Jodie Michalska - making a total of four trophies for Sheffield FC on the night.
The Love Football Play Football award, which celebrates work around grassroots participation, was won by Merseyrail. In the final award of the night, Derby County secretary Sheila Rollinson was recognised for her outstanding contribution to women's football.
Kelly Simmons, FA director of national game and women's football, said: "This has been another fantastic season of women's football and an evening like this really showcases how much quality there is across the leagues, from players to managers and the staff working behind-the-scenes.
"Introducing FA WSL 2, along with promotion and relegation between FA WSL 1, has really driven the competition forward as we saw on those particularly dramatic last days in both divisions.
"The formation new FA WPL is another important development for the women's game and there are now clear pathways for girls and women anywhere across the country to play at the highest level.
"There's a real excitement in the room ahead of next week's big England game against Germany, which is set to be a landmark occasion, and hopefully we'll see the impact of this across next season's football in terms of crowds and awareness."
Full list of winners (in running order): 
 FA WSL 1 Top Goalscorer    Karen Carney (Birmingham City)  
 FA WSL 2 Top Goalscorer    Francesca Kirby (Reading FC Women)  
 FA WSL Development League Top Goalscorer    Natasha Baptiste (Aston Villa)  
 FAWPL Northern Division Top Goalscorer    Jodie Michalska (Sheffield FC)  
 FAWPL Southern Division Top Goalscorer    Charlotte Gurr (Gillingham)  
 FA WSL Manager of the Year    Dave Parker (Birmingham City)  
 FAWPL Manager of the Year    Helen Mitchell (Sheffield FC)  
 Goal of the Season    Toni Duggan (Manchester City)  
 FA WSL 1 Players' Player of the Year    Ji So Yun (Chelsea)  
 FA WSL 2 Players' Player of the Year    Francesca Kirby (Reading FC Women)  
 FA WSL Development League Players' Player of the Year    Natasha Baptiste (Aston Villa)  
     Carla Humphrey (Arsenal) - joint winners  
 FAWPL Northern Division Players' Player of the Year    Jodie Michalska (Sheffield FC)  
 FAWPL Southern Division Players' Player of the Year    Sam Pittuck (Charlton Athletic)  
 FA WSL 1 Club of the Year    Liverpool Ladies FC  
 FA WSL 2 Club of the Year    Yeovil Town Ladies FC  
 FAWPL Club of the Year    Sheffield FC Ladies  
 Love Football Play Football Participation Award    Merseyrail  
 Outstanding Contribution to Women's Football    Sheila Rollinson (Derby County) 

 back to TOP


Women's Soccer Scene Media ©
on mobile   wssNews.co.uk 



Womens Football TV
Latest wssTV  


Womens Football Magazine
Womens Football Magazine

Womens Soccer Secene Media

Safe For Kids

Discount Football Kits

Women's Football Advertising

Womens Football News send your story photos and video

Women's Football Advertising

News Archive
News 2018-2019
News 2017-2018
News 2016-2017
News 2015-2016
News 2014-2015
News 2013-2014
News 2012-2013
News 2011-2012
Women's World Cup 2011
News 2010-2011
News 2009-2010
News 2008-2009
News 2007-2008
Women's World Cup 2007
News 2006-2007
News 2005-2006
News Euro 2005
News 2004-2005
News 2003-2004

Women's Sport Search
Women's Sport Search

Women's Football Advertising

Women's Football History


FA Womens Football Awards

BBC Sport Women's Football

Women's Football Advertising

Football Foundation


Total page reads:

© designed, created, hosted and managed by  WWW Support Services   (click for info)